13 April, 2009


For the ninth year in a row, the Metropolitan Police Department is honoring outstanding police officers, civilian employees, agency partners and community members who have helped to make DC neighborhoods safer over the past year. More than 65 individuals and organizations were recognized during the MPD’s 9th Annual Awards Ceremony, held Tuesday evening, April 7, at the Town Hall Education, Arts, and Recreation Campus (THEARC), at 1901 Mississippi Avenue in Southeast DC.
Seventh District Officer Kevin Naus received the Officer of the Year Medal. Detective Anthony Greene, of the Criminal Investigations Division, received the Detective of the Year Medal.

Sergeant Terry Thorne, in PSA 504, was named Sergeant of the Year. The Lieutenant of the Year Award was presented to Lieutenant Ozetta Posey, who is responsible for Squad Two and Squad Five in the Homicide Branch. Captain David Taylor is recognized as Captain of the Year for his strong work ethic and commitment to excellence and creativity in assisting the Sixth District in reducing violent crimes and homicides. Lendia Johnson, the Community Outreach Coordinator in the Seventh District, was awarded the civilian Employee of the Year Medal for consistently providing outstanding services to the Seventh District and the citizens of Ward 8.

The Joseph Pozell Reserve Officer of the Year Medal was given to Reserve Sergeant Lavern Green, who volunteered over 1,500 hours in 2008, ranking her Number One in the
Fourth District Police Reserve Unit.

These seven individuals are just a few of the police officers, civilian employees and
residents who were honored. In 2007, Chief of Police Cathy L. Lanier implemented a
new approach to recognizing the Department’s sworn and civilian members. Many
members now receive their awards shortly after the commendable action. In 2008,
approximately 430 members received awards at one of her regularly-scheduled
crime briefings.

Other awards include the Bureau Employees of the Year, for members who
work within one of the MPD’s seven Bureaus and exhibit standout qualities of
leadership, work ethic and commitment to service; the District Manager of the
Year; Forensic Science Officer of the Year; District Officer of the Year; COP Special
Award – Police Medal. The Best Performing District was awarded to the First
Police District and PSA 501 was recognized as PSA of the Year.

The Chief of Police Special Award is presented to community members who
have excelled in supporting crime prevention and community policing, and the
Chief’s Medal of Merit is given to members of other agencies who have assisted
the MPD in significant operations.

In addition to the numerous awards presented on Tuesday night, the MPD
also acknowledged 15 sworn and civilian members who have dedicated over 40 years of service to the Metropolitan Police Department. Even after four decades with the department, they continue to make the Department proud.

No comments: